What do you do with a problem like courgettes?

So like most people we’ve had a few courgettes this year, not as many as last year, but we halved the number of plants.

So on a warm Wednesday afternoon when I got home before Mrs Allotment10and10a I thought I’d make dinner but when I went to the fridge all that greeted me were piles of courgettes. So when the allotment gives you courgettes make courgette and pea creamy pasta.

Now I’ve never written a recipe before and to be honest I didn’t really make a note of the quantities I used but here goes:


Creamy Cheesy Courgette and Pea Pasta

Serves 2 – 3.

1 or 2 largish onions

1 medium to large courgette

Large handful of peas (I had to use frozen ones, I rinsed under the tap in a sieve to defrost)

100 mL (ish) of double cream

2 cloves of garlic

50 – 100 g Fresh Grated Parmesan (or other cheese)

Salt and pepper to taste

Small bunch of fresh basil

(Grilled / pan fried chicken breast sliced – Optional)

Your normal amount of pasta for 2 -3 people.


Put 2 tablespoons of oil in a large frying pan on a medium heat.

Slice the onion and put in the pan with a little salt, fry over a medium to low heat for 10ish minutes or until they start to caramelise, stirring occasionally.

Put your pasta water on.

Meanwhile dice the courgette, small 0.5 cm dice.

Once the onion is starting to colour add the courgette, you might need to increase the heat slightly, stirring occasionally.

Put the pasta in the (hopefully now) boiling water .

Chop / mince the garlic.

Once the courgette is beginning to colour add the garlic and the defrosted peas, stiring occasionally.

After a couple of minutes add the cream.

Grate the parmesan over the sauce and stir to incorporate. You’ll need to taste as you go to ensure not too salty and cheesy enough.

If adding chicken, ensure it is fully cooked and stir into the sauce.

Once the pasta is cooked, drain. If possible reserve some of the starchy water (only a tiny amount 2 – 4 tablespoons) and add to the sauce and stir.

Chop the basil and add to the sauce.

Serve the sauce over the pasta.

Add pepper as you go but be careful with the salt if using Parmesan.

Enjoy!


Now I didn’t think I or Mrs Allotment10and10a would enjoy this as much as we did but I think I surprised her with my culinary skills so I didn’t take any photos. Sorry.

Now I think this would also work with mint as the herb and replace the cream with some stock and flour.

Or some lemon zest would lift this recipe a little but I didn’t have any unfortunately.

 

Leave a Reply

